2018 Finalists

2018 Finalists

Congratulations to the 2018 Wicked Young Writer Awards finalists!

We had over 4,500 entries this year and the judges were blown away by the diversity in themes and heartfelt writing that they read. Thank you for sharing your incredible stories, essays and poems and we wish you all the best with your future writing!

We’re proud to announce the full list of finalists, runners-up and winners in all six categories below, as well as the top three schools with the most entries.

The 2018 Wicked Young Writer Awards ceremony took place at the Apollo Victoria Theatre, home of the hit musical Wicked, on Thursday 21 June 2018.

5-7 years category
Fern Brindle WINNER
Daniel MacAlpine RUNNER UP
Isabella Watson-Gandy RUNNER UP
Janey Wheatley
Olivia Katie Bostoff
Rosa Swarbrick
Emily Wilson
Alexandra Prideaux
Max Cooke
Josephine Lodge
Niamh Corner
Sophie Filobbos
Leon Spurdle
Daisy Donovan
Sophia Eschenbach
Poppy Phillips
Kristof Kranicz
Dhilan Samarasinghe
Sophia Schlenzka
Deniz Kocak
8 – 10 Years category
Robyn Blunden WINNER
Isobel Pitney RUNNER UP
Casper Hipperson
Marley Brown
Jessica Shonowo
Victoria Klimczak
Joshua Martyres
Euan Wright
Nigel Blackmore
Alannnah Edward
Angel Boateng
James Sage
Isadora Vargas Mafort
Amy Landy Freitas
Megan Johnston
Ingrid Caudill-Trafí
Theo Powell
Barnaby Mansour
Zara West
Nurjahaan Valli
11 – 14 years category
Freya Hannan-Mills WINNER
Ben Howarth RUNNER UP
Annie McCrory RUNNER UP
Leah Faulkner
Oliver Dobson
Grace Brett
Izaak Amber
Phoebe Backhouse
James Evans
Aimee McDonald
Kristina Novikova
Bill Balding
Eliza Kennedy
Erin Rowe
Anna Squire
Maddy Cox
Kirsty Dibben
Alice Routley
Izzy Whalley
Susie Weidmann

15-17 years category
Kashif Chowdhury WINNER
Tiegan James RUNNER UP
Hanaa Yousof
Alexandra Peel
Mia Lofthouse
Jakir Ali
Michael Day
Saima Ahmed
Chloe Fletcher
Justine Russell
Jodie Kemish
Eleanor Finch
James Irving
Isobel Cooper
Zahra Kasem
Amelie Frost
Gracie Ardolino
Chloe Sutcliffe
Zoe Man
Jonah Carter
18-25 years category
Imogen Usherwood WINNER
Anna-Roisin Ullman-Smith RUNNER UP
Lottie Carter RUNNER UP
Karenza Marie Hampel
Cheryl Buck
Lucy Jade Elliott
Katie Wentworth
Josef Smith
Lilayna Davies
Emily Collins
Megan Lofthouse-Mason
Hannah Casey
Beth MacLeod
Ellen Warren
Daisy Kennedy
Ropafadzo Mugadza
Becky Shepherd
For Good category
Emer O’Toole WINNER
Jenny Pavitt RUNNER UP
Aké Kibona
Alice Sargent
Grace Noakes
Deanna Giles
Emily Carnegie
Oska von Ruhland
Grace McKinlay
Yasmin Vince
Jared Cook
Jessica Birch
Megan Lofthouse-mason
Rachel Li
Rheanna Egleton
Robyn Noble
Sabina Rahman
Siobhán Doyle
Sophie Sleeman
Amber De Ruyt

Congratulations to the top three schools with the most entries

Devonshire House School

Moulsham Junior School

St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Primary School, Thurrock